Engineers Australia honours the industry’s best and brightest.

Catherine Garrett

The Australian Engineering Excellence Awards (AEEA) have recognised the industry’s most innovative and outstanding projects and people of 2016 at a gala ceremony in Brisbane.

Engineers Australia’s CEO Stephen Durkin said the awards were a wonderful opportunity to acknowledge the significant contribution engineers make to the community.

“The nominees represent Australia’s innovative and talented engineering sector.”

Project Award Winners

Brisbane’s flood-resistant ferry terminals won the Sir William-Hudson Award - the highest honour for a project based nomination from Engineers Australia.  Aurecon and Cox Rayner Architects were appointed by the Brisbane City Council to deliver the project.

The AEEA Environmental Engineering Excellence Award was given to Tasmania's Meander Dam Integrated Water Management System. Tasmanian Irrigation engaged Entura to design, develop and deliver the project.

The Engineering Innovation Award went to UTS and Roads and Maritime Services for a first of its kind designed and functional autonomous robotic bridge inspector.

National Award winners for Engineering Excellence.

  • Newcastle Memorial Walk for Northrop Consulting Engineers

  • The upgrade of the Pacific Highway - Tintenbar to Ewingsdale - entered by Roads and Maritime Services with Lend Lease Building Contractors, Arcadis and Aurecon Australasia Pty Ltd.

  • The Dr Chau Chak Wing Building at UTS by Arup

  • The Grid Utility Support System to improve power quality in regional Queensland from Ergon Energy

  • The Wiggins Island Coal Export Terminal – the first greenfield coal export terminal developed in Queensland in more than 20 years. This was a project by WICET Pty Ltd, Aurecon and Hatch.

Individual Award winners

  • Professional Engineer of the Year - John Macintosh HonFIEAust CPEng NER RPEQ 

  • Engineering Associate of the Year - Darren Green AFIEAust

  • Engineering Technologist of the Year - Shane Elson TMIEAust

  • Young Professional Engineer of the Year - David Lacey MIEAust CPEng NER RPEQ

  • Young Engineering Associate of the Year - Robert Ladd AFIEAust CEngA EngExec NER

  • Peter Nicol Russell Career Achievement Memorial Medal - Richard Kell AM HonFIEAust FTSE